The Only Question . . .

Out there in the dark, in the desert, I’d gone as far as I could go with Kayne. He never said he wanted more, but I kept thinking about Jazrel. He and Kayne were both Wulfs, and Kayne was like a prince in his world, and probably no one had ever said no to him. If he asked me, I didn’t know what I would say.

But then he took me in his arms and kissed me, and I stopped thinking about anything except how strong his arms felt around me and how good his lips felt on mine and the only question I had was—could this go on forever?

It would have if Kayne hadn’t let me go. I didn’t say anything. Didn’t say how much I wanted him, how desperately I needed him to tell me he’d hold me forever, if that was what I wanted.

Vaughn came back, and we got moving. Sometime in the night, my head on Kayne’s hard chest, I drifted toward sleep. Just before I was gone all the way, Kayne caressed my face, whispered, “to the last.”

It was so quiet, I could have dreamed it. But I didn’t.

h. Raven

Raven’s Bookshelf

~ by hravenstories on September 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
