Death’s Rain

Konstantine’s misunderstood. He doesn’t want to take over the whole world, just the parts with fresh meat.

Outside the rain falls. Each decade washes away carved letters on acres upon acres of countless tombstones, all over the world. And so many of the ranks of the dead need not have died, need not have suffered the agonies of mortality.

Having lived over a century, I understand the gift I offer to those whose hearts beat, a constantly ticking clock on their short lives, each breath a reminder that death’s shadow draws closer, always closer.

There are those who question my methods. I know who they are. But there is one worse than all the others. He once stood with us, and now has turned traitor. I myself gave him the gift of eternity. And now, when I am so close to my destiny, he dares to betray me.

When I lay my hands on him, he will scream in torment, beg me to take off his head, end his pain. But he will find no mercy with me.

I look to the rain beyond the windows, washing the glass clean. This is what I offer to those who sleep and dream: renewal, hope, a way to remake their world.

h. Raven

Raven’s Bookshelf

~ by hravenstories on August 17, 2010.

2 Responses to “Death’s Rain”

  1. Fabulous peek K’s mind. So, he’s only trying to offer them a better life, eh? Hhmmm…

    Great post.

Leave a Reply

 
